The Newsies – 2013

Welcome to The Newsies!, the only high school newspaper competition for New York City student journalists.

Please join us in congratulating the 2013 Newsies! stars.  The winners were announced at a lunchtime ceremony at Baruch College on Fri., Nov. 15 hosted by Michael Aronson, Editorial Board, New York Daily News. Visit New York Daily News Online for a full report.

School News
firstplace“Major Bell Schedule Change Ahead,” by Suswana Chowdhury, Katherine Maradiaga, et al, Townsend Harris High School
*Runner-up “I.S. 49 May Provide New Home for TBLS,” by Adna Zejnilovic, Brooklyn Latin School
*Honorable mention “Madison Locks Down,” by Amanda Markowitz and Jelani Roberts, James Madison High School
Judges: Emma Sokoloff-Rubin (Gotham Schools) and Indrani Sen (CUNY Graduate School of Journalism)

Community News
firstplace“Students Feel Supported by New Minimum Wage Law,” by Raymond Hu, Baruch College Campus High School
*Runner-up “B48 Bus Returns to Full Service,” by Katelyn Moeser, Brooklyn Community Arts & Media High School
*Honorable mention “Soda ban leaves local bodegas in bubble of trouble,” by Andrew Housman, Brooklyn Latin School
Judges: Sylvia Guerrero (Freelance radio producer) and Rita Jensen Henley (Women’s eNews)

National/World News
firstplace* “Legitimate Questions on Media Priorities in Rape Case,” by Genna Mastellone and Catherine Moskos, Townsend Harris High School
*Runner-up “School Debates Gun Control Policies,” by John Cruz Jr., Josue Guerrero, and Luis Ordonez-Aguaiza, Edward R. Murrow High School
*Honorable mention “Safe Drive and Stay Alive,” by Demi Selzer, Robert F. Kennedy Community High School
Judges: Derek Kravitz (Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism, Columbia University) and Peter McDermott (Irish Echo)

firstplace* “An Idea Worth Spreading,” by Esther Mathieu, Bard High School Early College
*Runner-up“Neighborhood Hangouts Reviewed,” Staff report, Brooklyn Latin School
*Honorable mention “Bully; a movie review,” by Matthew Kimball, James Madison High School
Judges:  Ralph Blumenthal (Baruch College) and  Amy Zimmer (DNAinfo)

Illustration/Comics/Political Cartoon
firstplaceElectoral College by RJ Rubio, Benjamin N. Cardozo High School
*Runner-up Obamacare vs. War by Robert Woods, Frank Sinatra School for the Arts
*Honorable mention “BTHS Lowering Its Standards, Feeding a Different Crowd,” by Ahmed Abo Donia, Brooklyn Technical High School
*Honorable mention  “Freedom of the Press,” by Timea Nick, International High School at Lafayette
Judges: Rebecca Baker (The Record) and Peter Hamlin (Associated Press)

firstplace“Tuning Up,” by Clifford Michel, Brooklyn Latin School

*Runner-up “Giving a Helping Hand,” by Julien Clements, Aviation High School
*Honorable mention “Displaced Students Prove Resilient,” by Nomar Pagan, Curtis High School
Judges: Jane Hwang (Bloomberg News) and Donna Rickles (Freelance Photo Editor)

Opinion/Editorial Writing
firstplace“Love and Hip-Hop…Really?” by Keturah Hancock, East Side Community High School
*Runner-up “Duking it Out Over Art,” by Corrina Blau and Nicole Nemet, Edward R. Murrow High School
*Honorable mention “As School Grows, so Does Pressure to Lead,” by Amy Chen, Brooklyn Latin School
Judges: Theodore Hamm (St. Joseph’s College New York) and Patricia Willens (SchoolBook) 

firstplace“Girls Varsity Wrestling Debuts, Makes NYC History,” by Isaac Pulatov, Townsend Harris High School

*Runner-up “Kickin’ It Out,” by Hawanatu Mansaray, Edward R. Murrow High School
*Honorable mention “Golden Knight Goes for Gold,” by Addler Pierre-Louis, James Madison High School
Judge: Fluto Shinzawa (Boston Globe) and Lori Sokol (Publisher/Author)

firstplace“Group Work: Foe or Friend?” by Inna Kim, International High School at Lafayette
*Runner-up “Exercise is Alive: Teachers Uses Alternative Ways to Maintain a Healthy Lifestyle,” by Corrina Blau, Edward R. Murrow High School
*Honorable mention “Young Historians See Through Eyes of Holocaust Prisoners,” by Lindsey Riback, Midwood High School
Judges: Jeanmarie Evelly (DNAinfo) and Geanne Rosenberg (Baruch College) 

Multimedia Storytelling
firstplace“CPR (Courtesy, Professionalism, Respect),” by BCAMTV, Brooklyn Community Arts & Media

*Runner-up “Special Feature: These Unforgettable Prom Memories Cost Money,” by Amanda Yan and Christina Wang, Townsend Harris High School
*Honorable mention “Sandy Photos,” by Andrew Wakschal, CSI High School for International Studies
Judges: Bob Sacha (CUNY Graduate School of Journalism) and Wonbo Woo (NBC)

Enhanced Reporting
coverage enhanced by Internet tools (social media, online polls, etc.)
“Scholars’ Fears Abated,” by Mudassir Mumtaz, Scholars’ Academy
*Runner-up “Hurricane Sandy Pictures,” WJPS Staff, World Journalism Preparatory School
Judges: Vera Haller (Baruch College) and Amanda Hickman (CUNY Graduate School of Journalism)

Best Middle School Newspaper
firstplace* The Edward B. Shallow Gazette, I.S. 227 Edward B. Shallow
*Runner-up New Image, I.S. 281 Joseph B. Cavallaro
*Honorable mention The Clinton Post, The Clinton School for Artists and Writers
Judges: Winnie Hu (New York Times) and Jackie Majerus and Steve Collins (Youth Journalism International)

Best New Newspaper (<2 years old)
firstplace*Insight 182, Theatre Arts Production Company School
Judges: Amanda Prost (Women’s World) and Mark Mackintosh (Columbus magazine)

Dow Jones Best Overall Online News Site
firstplaceThe Classic Online, Townsend Harris High School
*Runner-up The Survey, Brooklyn Technical High School
*Honorable mention The Murrow Network, Edward R. Murrow High School
Judges: Hasani Gittens ( and Joshua Norman (

Dow Jones Best Overall Print Newspaper
 firstplace* Murrow Network, Edward R. Murrow High School
*Runner-up Brooklyn Latineer, Brooklyn Latin School
*Honorable mention The Classic, Townsend Harris High School
*Honorable mention Vocational Voice, Queens Vocational and Technical High School
Judges: Jere Hester (CUNY Graduate School of Journalism), Gail Robinson (Freelance journalist, teacher), Andrea Sachs (TIME) & Cristian Salazar (Gotham Gazette)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *