Schedule of Readings and Assignments

SCHEDULE OF READINGS & ASSIGNMENTS

Week One

Tuesday, January 31

  •  Introduction, Review of Syllabus
  • Readings to Discuss:  selections from The Machine is the Massage by Marshall McLuhan (handout)
  • Writing Diagnostic

Thursday, February 2

  • Readings to Discuss: “Diary” by Sherry Turkle (course site)

Week Two

Tuesday, February 7

  • Readings to Discuss: The Shallows, Prologue and Chapters 1 & 2 (pages 1-35)
  • Writing Due: Response Paper 1 (1-2 pages typed, to be handed in)

 

Thursday, February 9

  • Readings to Discuss: The Shallows, digression and Chapter 3 (pages 36-57)

Week Three

Tuesday, February 14

  • Readings to Discuss: The Shallows, Chapters 4 & 5 (pages 58-98)
  • Writing Due: Blog (Free Choice/Reading Log)

Thursday, February 16

  • Readings to Discuss: The Shallows, Chapters 6 & 7 (pages 99-143)
  • Writing Due: Response Paper 2 (1-2 pages typed, to be handed in)

Week Four

Tuesday, February 21  NO CLASS (classes follow a Monday Schedule)

Thursday, February 23

  • Readings to Discuss: The Shallows, Chapters 8 & 9, digression (pages 144-200); Poem Packet #1 (course site)
  • Writing Due: Blog (Free Choice/Reading Log)

Week Five

Tuesday, February 28

  • Readings to Discuss: Finish The Shallows, Chapter 10, Epilogue, Afterword (pages 201-228)
  • Writing Due: ROUGH DRAFT, Paper #1 Due (3-5 pages typed, bring 3 COPIES to class)
  • Peer Review/In-class Writing Workshop

Thursday, March 1    INDIVIDUAL CONFERENCESNO REGULAR CLASS PERIOD—Please come to my “Office”—VC7-290K at your assigned time**

Bring a copy of your most recent draft of Paper #1!

Week Six 

Tuesday, March 6

  • Readings to Discuss: “Résumé” by Luc Sante (course site)
  • Writing Due: FINAL DRAFT, Paper #1 Due (3-5 pages typed)

Thursday, March 8

  • Readings to Discuss: “Learning to See” by Rebecca Brown, continue with “Résumé” by Luc Sante (course site)

Week Seven

Tuesday, March 13

  • Readings to Discuss: Now You See It, Introduction and Chapter 1 (pages 1-43)
  • Writing Due: Response Paper 3 (1-2 pages typed, to be handed in)

Thursday, March 15

  • Readings to Discuss: Now You See It, Chapter 2 (pages 44-58)
  • Writing Due: ROUGH DRAFT, Paper #2 Due (3-5 pages typed, bring 3 COPIES to class)
  • Peer Review/In-class Writing Workshop

Week Eight

Tuesday, March 20

  • Readings to Discuss: Now You See It, Chapter 3 (pages 61-104)
  • Writing Due: Revision Plan/Map for Paper #2

Thursday, March 22                        NO CLASS

Week Nine

Tuesday, March 27

  • Film: TRON (1982)
  • Readings to Discuss: Now You See It, Chapter 6 (pages 165-208)
  • Writing Due: Blog (Reflective Writing Log)—Use this blog entry as your opportunity to post your questions, concerns, status, etc. with regards to Paper #2. How is your revising going? What are you struggling with? What are you excited about? This post should be at least two well-developed paragraphs. Please also try to comment on your classmates’ posts—the blog is here to help us with our writing processes!

Thursday, March 29

  • Writing Due: Radical Revision ROUGH DRAFT, Paper #2 Due (3-5 pages typed, bring 2 COPIES to class)
  • Peer Review/In-class Writing Workshop

Week Ten

Tuesday, April 3

  • Readings to Discuss: Select one “work” from the Electronic Literature Collection
  • Writing Due:
    •  PART ONE:  Be prepared to “present” the work you chose. These presentations will be short (no more than 5 minutes). Please be sure that your presentations are interactive—do not just show and tell—ask the class questions—try to help your audience become enthused by the work you’ve chosen to present on.
    • PART TWO:  Post your “presentation notes” as well as a link to the work you chose from the Electronic Literature Collection to the class blog.

Thursday, April 5

  • Readings to Discuss: Finish Electronic Literature Presentations
  • “Catch Up” Day!
  • Writing Due: FINAL DRAFT, Paper #2 Due (3-5 pages typed)

Week Eleven

Tuesday, April 10                        NO CLASS—Spring Break!

Thursday, April 12                        NO CLASS—Spring Break!

Week Twelve

Tuesday, April 17

  • Readings to Discuss: Now You See It, Chapter 7 (pages 208-244)
  • Writing Due: Blog (Free Choice)

Thursday, April 19

  • Readings to Discuss: “Blogs vs. Term Papers” and Cathy Davidson’s response (course site); “Bartelby, the Scrivener” by Herman Melville (course site)
  • Writing Due: Response Paper 4 (Paper #3, Preparation 1)

Week Thirteen

Tuesday, April 24

  • Readings to Discuss: Poem Packet #2 (course site)
  • Writing Due: Response Paper 5 (Paper #3, Preparation 2)

Thursday, April 26

  • Readings to Discuss: Poem Packet #2 (course site)
  • Writing Due: Annotated Bibliography (Paper #3, Preparation 3)

Week Fourteen

Tuesday, May 1

  • Readings to Discuss: “A Report to An Academy” by Franz Kafka (course site)
  • Writing Due: ROUGH DRAFT, Paper #3 Due (5-7 pages typed, bring 3 COPIES to class)
  • Peer Review/In-class Writing Workshop

Thursday, May 3  INDIVIDUAL CONFERENCESNO REGULAR CLASS PERIOD— Please come to my “Office”—VC7-290K at your assigned time**

Bring a copy of your most recent draft of Paper #3!

Week Fifteen

Tuesday, May 8

  • Readings to Discuss: “The Machine Stops” by E.M. Forster (course site)
  • Writing Due: Blog (Reflective Writing Log)

Thursday, May 10

  • Readings to Discuss: TBD
  • Presentations of digital essays (part one)
  • Writing Due: FINAL DRAFT PAPER #3 (5-7 pages typed)

Week Sixteen

Tuesday, May 15

  • Readings to Discuss: TBD
  • Presentations of digital essays (part two)

LAST CLASS/ Grades

Good Luck!

One Response to Schedule of Readings and Assignments

  1. Somebody necessarily help to make severely articles I would state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular put up incredible. Fantastic process!

Leave a Reply